Babes 4 Yoga With Adriene: Day 1

riri
2 min readJan 3, 2023

--

Happy New Years to the hotties that worship one god and one god only:

Adriene Mishler (left) with her dog Benji (right)

Yoga With Adriene’s annual 30 Day Yoga Challenge is here once again to provide us all with a sense of purpose.

For those who don’t know, Adriene Mishler is a certified yoga babe whose popular YouTube channel makes her the reigning queen of wellness. She’s been doing a 30 day yoga challenge at the start of every new year for the last eight years, and I’ve been participating the last four. They’re easy enough to follow and they help me reset, cleanse, and challenge myself to accomplish a small goal at the start of my new year.

I thought I’d write my thoughts on each day’s challenge, for anyone who is also participating and wants to share how each day made them feel, for no reason at all, just like that one movement class you took in college.

Day 1:

Center: Day 1

This challenge was overall relaxed and easy, but hard for my creaky joints that were stiff after weeks of holiday traveling. Bless Adriene for making us sit up straight for a solid five minutes; I knew my restlesness at the beginning of this exercise would foreshadow how fidgety I would be for the rest of the challenge.

Highlights: the neck “cat/cow”

Sis, whatever you just invented here changed my posture fr. Adj makes you stand while cradling and rolling your neck around like you would in a cat cow. My neck popped like I was pouring milk over Rice Krispies. The overall effect felt, in her words, “yummy”.

Lows: the high lunge

Boy those high lunges hurt, but good ole Adriene doesn’t make us stay here for too long. She also always gives us the option to lower our knees, and in the privacy of my own home where I’m not being judged by anyone else, I happily take that variation.

Did you guys like this challenge? Let me know!

--

--